Concealed Carry Class in Alaska
Looking to take a concealed carry course in Alaska? We’ve got some information regarding training here, as well as basic requirements for getting your permit.
Of course in Alaska, a permit isn’t required, but is given for the purposes of being able to carry in other states that recognize Alaska’s permit. Learn about the training requirements of your state and then book your concealed carry course!
Name: Alaska Concealed Handgun Permit
Issuer: Alaska State Police
Type of State: Constitutional Carry. You are not required by law to have a concealed carry license in Alaska, but the state operates on a Shall-Issue basis and issues licenses for the purpose of reciprocity.
Training Required? Yes. To obtain a permit, which will allow you to take advantage of Alaska reciprocity agreements, you must take a training course.
Type of Training Accepted: An approved handgun course (including the NRA Personal Protection Course).
A course will be approved if it tests your: 1. Knowledge of Alaska law relating to firearms and the use of deadly force; 2. Familiarity with the basic concepts of safety and responsibility in handgun use; 3. Knowledge of self-defense principles; and 4. Physical competence with a handgun (i.e., you must fire live rounds).
You must have completed your course within the 12 months immediately preceding your application.
Length of Training: 12 Hours
Cost of Training: $145-$250 (prices vary, but this is a rough outline)
Notes: The Alaska Department of Public Safety will provide you with a list of approved classes if you put in a request. Contact the Department here.
States that honor or recognize the Alaska Concealed Handgun Permit
|New Hampshire||New Mexico||North Carolina||North Dakota|
Alaska honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits
Alaska honors permits from all other states.