Concealed Carry Class in Illinois

Finally! Illinois has only recently passed a law that allows for concealed carry.

After a long battle, Illinois becomes the final state to allow CCW (though it is basically illegal in places like Hawaii where they haven’t issued permits for years).

Learn more about what you need for your Illinois concealed carry class.

Name: Illinois Concealed Carry License

Issuer: State Police

Type of State: Shall-Issue

Training Required? Yes

Type of Training Accepted: Successfully complete 16 hours of firearms training, including classroom and range instruction.

Here is a list of the approved curriculum training providers: List of Approved Curriculum.

Otherwise, you may be able to satisfy training requirements if you meet any of the criteria laid out here in this document: http://www.isp.state.il.us/firearms/ccw/CCWPriorTrainingCredit.pdf.

Length of Training: 16 Hours

Cost of Training: Around $150, though class prices vary

Notes: You need your Firearms Owner Identification Card (FOID) first. Learn more here: http://www.isp.state.il.us/foid/foidinfo.cfm.

Find instructors who have been approved on the registry here: http://www.isp.state.il.us/firearms/ccw/instructor-registry.cfm

Reciprocity:

States that honor or recognize the Illinois Concealed Carry License

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas
Idaho Indiana Iowa Kansas
Kentucky Michigan Mississippi Missouri
North Carolina Oklahoma South Dakota Tennessee
Utah Vermont

Illinois honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits

Illinois does not honor permits from any other state.

1 comment

  1. Jesse Peterson

Trackback e pingback

No trackback or pingback available for this article

Leave a Reply