Last updated on
Want to take a concealed carry course in California? Read on to find out the requirements.
We’ve got information on training and classes and also some reciprocity to help you when it comes to dealing with your CA Concealed Firearm License.
Make sure to book your course as soon as possible after filling out the necessary forms and make training a priority not just to get your license, but as part of your responsibilities as a person who carries concealed.
Name: California Concealed Firearm License
Issuer: Local Sheriff or Chief of Police
Type of State: May-issue
Training Required? Yes
Type of Training Accepted: Any course that goes over basic safety and California’s gun laws
Length of Training: Not to exceed 16 hours
Cost of Training: $100
Minimum Age Required: 21
Length of License Period: 2 Years
Notes: A course must be taken before your license renewal. It must be at least 4 hours long.
States that honor or recognize the California Concealed Firearm License
California honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits
California does not recognize permits or licenses from any other state.