Last updated on
We have the training requirements laid out and also a reciprocity chart to give you a bit of an idea of what to expect when you get your CCW training and also when you get your actual license.
Read below and then sign up for a class right away and make sure you get the most out of it by paying attention and considering making it a regular (monthly, for example) thing that you do to stay at the top of your game.
Name: Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License
Issuer: Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services – Division of Licensing
Type of State: Shall-issue
Training Required? Yes
Type of Training Accepted: Any hunter education or safety course approved by Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission or a parallel agency from another state.
Any NRA safety or training course.
Any safety or training course available to the general public offered by a law enforcement agency, junior college, college, or private or public institution or organization or firearms school, as long as the instructors are certified by the NRA, the Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission or the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.
Any law or security enforcement safety or training course.
Any other safety or training course given by a state-certified instructor or by an instructor certified by the NRA.
Evidence of experience with a gun through participation in organized shooting competition.
Active-Duty Military Personnel may submit any document that confirms experience with a firearm gained during service.
Former Military Personnel may submit a DD Form 214 reflecting honorable discharge from military service.
Length of License: 7 years
Length of Training: No time requirements, but generally 3-8 hours
Cost of Training: $75-$150
States that honor or recognize the Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License
|Nevada||New Mexico||North Carolina||North Dakota|
Florida honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits
|New Hampshire||New Mexico||North Carolina||North Dakota|
Note: Florida will not recognize non-resident permits from any state.