Last updated on
Idaho is a great place to take a concealed carry class. The License is recognized by quite a few states and you should be able to find an excellent course near you.
Read more below on the general training requirements and reciprocity relating to the Idaho Concealed Weapons License.
Name: Idaho Concealed Weapons License
Issuer: Local County Sheriff
Type of State: Shall-issue
Minimum Age Requirement 21
Training Required? Yes
Type of Training Accepted: Any hunter education or safety course approved by the Idaho Department of Fish and Game or a parallel agency from another state.
Any NRA safety, training, or hunting course.
A law or security enforcement firearms safety or training course.
Any safety or training class offered by a law enforcement agency, community college, university or private or public school or firearms training course. You should typically choose to take a course given by a NRA-certified or Idaho State Police-certified instructor.
Proof of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competition or military service.
Length of Training: No minimum requirement. 3-8 hours usually
Cost of Training: $60-$100
Notes: You do not need to take training when renewing your license as long as your current license is still valid.
Enhanced licenses are available starting July 1, 2013. They will be good for 5 years. Training is required, and an Enhanced license will require the applicant to have fired at least 98 life-fire rounds in the training course. These licenses are the same as the normal license, although the requirement for training seems slightly higher (i.e., the mandated 98 rounds fired). They will likely be used in reciprocity negotiations.
States that honor or recognize the Idaho Concealed Weapons License for standard residents:
|Montana||Nebraska||New Hampshire||North Carolina|
|North Dakota||Ohio||Oklahoma||South Dakota|
Idaho honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits:
Idaho honors all permits from other states.