Concealed Carry Class in Idaho

Idaho is a great place to take a concealed carry class. The License is recognized by quite a few states and you should be able to find an excellent course near you.

Read more below on the general training requirements and reciprocity relating to the Idaho Concealed Weapons License.

Name: Idaho Concealed Weapons License

Issuer: Local Sheriff

Type of State: Shall-Issue

Training Required? Yes

Type of Training Accepted: Any hunter education or safety course approved by the Idaho Department of Fish and Game or a parallel agency from another state.

Any NRA safety, training, or hunting course.

A law or security enforcement firearms safety or training course.

Any safety or training class offered by a law enforcement agency, community college, university or private or public school or firearms training course. You should typically choose to take a course given by a NRA-certified or Idaho State Police-certified instructor.

Proof of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competition or military service.

Length of Training: No minimum requirement. 3-8 hours usually

Cost of Training: $60-$100

Notes: You do not need to take training when renewing your license as long as your current license is still valid.

Enhanced licenses are available starting July 1, 2013. They will be good for 5 years. Training is required, and an Enhanced license will require the applicant to have fired at least 98 life-fire rounds in the training course. These licenses are the same as the normal license, although the requirement for training seems slightly higher (i.e., the mandated 98 rounds fired). They will likely be used in reciprocity negotiations.


States that honor or recognize the Idaho Concealed Weapons License

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas
Colorado Florida Georgia Indiana
Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana
Michigan Mississippi Missouri Montana
Nebraska Nevada* New Hampshire New Mexico*
North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma
South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas
Utah Vermont Virginia West Virginia
Wisconsin Wyoming

* denotes state that only accepts Idaho Enhanced Permit

Idaho honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits

Idaho honors all permits from other states.

Leave a Reply