Taking a concealed carry class in Kansas is an important step on the path to get your Concealed Carry Handgun License.
Be aware that some significant changes were made in 2013 to the laws that affect CCW. Be sure to check out the FAQ on the new law by reading it here.
Name: Kansas Concealed Carry Handgun License
Issuer: Kansas Attorney General
Type of State: Shall-Issue
Training Required? Yes
Type of Training Accepted: Any approved handgun course. Your course must include training in safe storage, Kansas firearms laws, and live-fire exercises.
A valid concealed carry permit from another state may be presented as proof of training, if Kansas recognizes that state’s permit (if you are moving to Kansas).
Length of Training: 8 hours
Cost of Training: $125-$150 (prices vary, but this is a rough outline)
Notes: The Attorney General publishes and maintains a list of certified handgun instructors. Click here to view the list. Please ensure you use this list before taking any training to confirm that the person teaching your 8-hour class is certified with the State.
States that honor or recognize the Kansas Concealed Carry Handgun License
|Nebraska||Nevada||New Mexico||North Carolina|
|South Carolina||South Dakota||Tennessee||Texas|
Kansas honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits
Kansas honors permits from all other states.