Read this page to find out what kind of concealed carry class in Kentucky you need to take to get your Concealed Weapons License.
It’s a good idea to stay sharp with your firearm, so even if you already have a license, it’s smart to take regular training and make sure you practice often.
Name: Kentucky Carry Concealed Deadly Weapons License
Issuer: Kentucky State Police (apply at your local Sheriff)
Type of State: Shall-Issue
Training Required? Yes
Type of Training Accepted: Any course offered or approved by the Department of Criminal Justice Training that includes training on Kentucky firearms laws, the safe use of handguns, the care and cleaning of handguns, and handgun marksmanship principles. The class must also include live-fire exercises in which you fire no more than 20 rounds into a full-sized silhouette target. You must hit the target at least 11 times.
Military law enforcement training course taken by any current or retired Military Peace Officer of the US Army, Navy, Marine Corps or Air Force, or a reserve component thereof, or of the Army Reserve or Air Force Reserve.
US Coast Guard law enforcement training course taken by a member of the US Coast Guard serving in a Peace Officer role.
Length of Training: 8 hours maximum
Cost of Training: Up to $75 for the course and $10 for range use, targets and other materials
Notes: If you are unsure about the class you are taking, please contact your local Sheriff’s Office and they will provide you with a list of instructors in your area. Click here to find your local Sheriff.
States that honor or recognize the Kentucky Carry Concealed Deadly Weapons License
|Nevada||New Hampshire||North Carolina||North Dakota|
Kentucky honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits
Kentucky honors all permits from other states.