Taking a concealed carry class in Maine is necessary if you want to get your Permit to carry concealed.
You’ll find out the necessary training requirements, plus some other helpful information below. Once you’re ready to apply, make sure you book your CCW course right away and consider making training a regular thing to stay at the top of your game.
Name: Maine Permit to Carry Concealed Firearms
Issuer: Mayor and Municipal officers or councilors of a city, municipal officers or councilors of a town, or the assessors of a plantation, or, if they choose, their full-time chief of police; or the chief of the state police if you are a resident of unorganized territory or a non-resident.
Type of State: Shall-Issue
Training Required? Yes
Type of Training Accepted: Any class or course that included handgun safety. The class must be offered by or under the supervision of federal, state, county or municipal law enforcement agency or a firearms instructor certified by a private firearms association recognized as knowledgeable in matters of firearms safety by the issuing authority or by the state in which the course was taken (NRA, for example).
Personally demonstrate to the issuing authority your knowledge of handgun safety. This is only applicable if the authority is willing to evaluate your demonstration – the authority is not required to offer this.
A valid state permit to carry a concealed firearm (as of April 15, 1990).
Basic Firearms Training if you were in the US Armed Forces.
Length of Training: 3-8 hours
Cost of Training: $90-$125
States that honor or recognize the Maine Permit to Carry Concealed Firearms
|North Carolina||North Dakota||Oklahoma||Pennsylvania|
Maine honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits
|North Dakota||Pennsylvania||South Dakota||Wyoming|