We’ve got the information you need on training requirements for getting your CCW Permit in Maryland.
You’ll be required to take a concealed carry course in Maryland, and there are various options for you. The important thing is to fill out the forms correctly and book yourself into a course right away. Consider doing training frequently to ensure you’re always practiced and ready in case the worst happens.
Name: Maryland Permit to Carry a Handgun
Issuer: Secretary of State Police
Type of State: May-Issue
Training Required? Yes
Type of Training Accepted: Free firearms safety training course offered by the Police Training Commissions.
A course offered by an individual or organization certified by the Police Training Commission, the Department of Natural Resources, or the Maryland State Police, as long as it includes a handgun safety component.
A course that includes a firearms safety component conducted by an individual or organization certified by “any reputable organization having as one of its objectives the promotion of competency and safety in handling handguns whose course has been determined by the Commissions to meet the regulations adopted by the Commission.” For example, NRA Handgun Safety Course.
Local or State law enforcement officers do not need to take the training course.
A DD-214 can be presented by a member, retired member, or honorable discharged member of the US Armed Forces or the National Guard.
Members of organizations that are required by federal law or regulations governing their specific business or activity to maintain handguns and ammunition do not have to take the course.
Permit to Carry a Handgun in Maryland under the Maryland Public Safety Article, Title 5, Subtitle 3.
Maryland Hunter Safety Course taken on or after January 1, 2002.
NRA Basic Firearm Safety Course (taken in Maryland) on or after January 1, 2004.
Length of Training: 30 minutes – 6 hours
Cost of Training: Free-$165
Notes: The Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, Maryland Police Training Commission, is mandated by law to offer a free Firearms Safety Training Course. This is an online course and “will satisfy one of the requirements for firearms ownership under Maryland law”. You may wish to take further training, and as Maryland is a May-Issue state, it could help your chances if you prove that you are even more proficient with a handgun.
A court battle is currently underway in Maryland to remove the “good and substantial reason” clause, which allows for Maryland to be a May-Issue state, giving judgment to the issuing authority. At present, you must still present good and substantial reason for having a concealed firearm, and Maryland still operates as a May-Issue state.
States that honor or recognize the Maryland Permit to Carry a Handgun
|Montana||North Carolina||Oklahoma||South Dakota|
Maryland honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits
Maryland does not recognize permits or licenses from any other state.