Last updated on
Mississippi is is Permitless Carry, but you’ll need a concealed carry class in Mississippi if you want an Enhanced Permit, which allows you the ability to carry concealed in more places.
You can get a permit without training, but there are quite a few more restrictions than with an Enhanced Permit in MS.
It is probably a good idea to take training regardless of what permit you get, because carrying a firearm is an extremely important responsibility with terrible consequences for people who mess up because they are not adequately trained.
Name: Mississippi Firearms Permit
Issuer: Mississippi Department of Public Safety: Highway Patrol
Type of State: Shall-Issue
Training Required? No, but if you take additional training, you can be endorsed for an Enhanced Permit
Type of Training Accepted: Enhanced Permit Training – An instructional course in the safe handling and use of firearms offered by an instructor certified by a nationally recognized organization that customarily offers firearms training, or by any other organization approved by the Department of Public Safety.
You must take this Enhanced Permit course from a certified instructor.
Length of Training: 8-14 hours
Cost of Training: $75-$200 (prices vary, but this is a rough outline)
Notes: While you do not need to take a class to get a Mississippi Firearms Permit, there are a number of restricted areas where you can not carry concealed. By obtaining training, you can apply for an Enhanced Permit, which greatly reduces the number of areas where you can not carry concealed (even with an Enhanced Permit, you can not carry into various establishments and institutions, so be sure to check, as the AG recently gave opinions and changes to some of the relevant laws. If you are unsure, always contact your Issuing Authority for the rules).
States that honor or recognize the Mississippi Firearms Permit
|Montana||Nevada||New Hampshire||New Mexico|
|North Carolina||North Dakota||Ohio||Oklahoma|
Mississippi honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits
Mississippi honors permits from all other states.