Montana is Permitless Carry with restrictions, but you can get a permit which will allow you more freedom to carry. Read on to learn the training requirements.
We have laid out the requirements and training types accepted below so that you can make an accurate decision when it comes to choosing the right training course or class in MT.
Name: Montana Concealed Weapons Permit
Issuer: Montana Department of Justice
Type of State: Constitutional Carry (Limited, Shall-Issue) – You do not need a permit to carry outside of city limits
Training Required? Yes
Type of Training Accepted: A hunter education or safety course approved or conducted by the Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks or a parallel agency from another state.
A firearms safety or training course approved or conducted by the Department of Fish, Wildlife and parks, a parallel agency from another state, a national firearms association, a law enforcement agency, an institution of higher education, or an organization that uses instructors certified by a national firearms association.
A law enforcement firearms safety or training course offered to or required of public or private law enforcement personnel and conducted or approved by a law enforcement agency.
A carry license from another state that has been granted after completion of a course such as those listed above.
Evidence that during military service, you have been found to be qualified to operate firearms, including handguns.
Length of Training: 8 hours and up
Cost of Training: $70-$95 (prices vary, but this is a rough outline)
Notes: Remember that Montana law only requires a permit to carry concealed within city or town limits or within the confines of a logging, mining, lumbering or railroad camp.
States that honor or recognize the Montana Concealed Weapons Permit
|Nebraska||Nevada||North Carolina||North Dakota|
Montana honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits
|New Jersey||New Mexico||New York||North Carolina|
|Pennsylvania||South Carolina||South Dakota||Tennessee|