Training requirements are listed below but the short answer is that you do need to take a concealed carry class in New Mexico to get your CCW License.
The classes must be fairly lengthy compared to other jurisdictions (15 hours), so read below to learn more and then be sure to book your class. Also note that it’s never a bad idea to get into the habit of regular training to ensure you are always at the top of your game.
Name: New Mexico Concealed Handgun License
Issuer: New Mexico Department of Public Safety
Type of State: Shall-Issue
Training Required? Yes
Type of Training Accepted: Any firearms training course that is certified or sponsored by a federal or state law enforcement agency, a college, a firearms training school or a nationally recognized organization, approved by the department, that customarily offers firearms training. This course must teach: knowledge and safe handling of single and double action revolvers and semiautomatic handguns, safe storage and child safety, safe shooting fundamentals, live shooting on a firing range, identification of ways to develop and maintain your shooting skills, federal, state and local firearms laws, how to avoid a criminal attack and control a violent confrontation, and techniques for nonviolent dispute resolution. This course must be given by a state-certified instructor. Click here to see a list of all certified instructors. Training must be taken within 90 days of your license application.
Current certified law enforcement officers and officers who have retired in the past 10 years in good standing do not need to take a civilian firearms training course in NM.
Length of Training: At least 15 hours
Cost of Training: $100-$229 (prices vary, but this is a rough outline)
Notes: You must demonstrate competency with each firearm you wish to carry concealed, before you will be issued a permit to carry that particular firearm. If you wish to add another category or higher caliber handgun to your license, you must apply to renew your license. For this renewal, you do not need to take the classroom portion of the training course.
To renew your license, you must take a four hour refresher course.
You must take a two hour refresher class two years after getting your original or renewed license. The course must be taken 22 to 26 months after the issuance of the licensed and you must submit the certificate of completion to the Department no later than 30 days after completion.
States that honor or recognize the New Mexico Concealed Handgun License
|North Carolina||North Dakota||Ohio||Oklahoma|
|South Carolina||South Dakota||Tennessee||Texas|
New Mexico honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits
|Nevada||North Carolina||North Dakota||Ohio|