Last updated on
To get your license, you need to take a concealed carry class in Oregon, and interestingly, they still allow you to do it online, if you’d prefer.
We don’t recommend the online classes, though, because you do not get the proper training that you should be looking for. Carrying a weapon like this is not something you should take lightly in OR or anywhere else. You should always be looking for extra practice and tips to make sure you are always prepared if something were to go wrong.
Read on to find out the training requirements and make a decision that suits you and your family on the course you take.
Name: Oregon Concealed Handgun License
Issuer: Local Sheriff
Type of State: Shall-Issue
Training Required? Yes
Type of Training Accepted: Any hunter education or safety course approved by the Department of Fish and Wildlife or a parallel agency in another state if handgun safety was a component of the course.
Any NRA safety or training course if handgun safety was a component of the course.
Any firearms safety or training class available to the general public, offered by law enforcement, community college, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school utilizing instructors certified by the NRA or a law enforcement agency if handgun safety was a component of the course.
Any law enforcement firearms safety or training course offered for security guards, investigators, reserve law enforcement officers, or any other law enforcement officer if handgun safety was a component of the course.
Proof of equivalent experience with a handgun through participation in organized shooting competition or military service.
If you are or have been previously licensed to carry a firearm in Oregon, you do not need to take another class (unless your license was revoked).
Any other firearms safety or training course given by an instructor who is certified by the NRA or a law enforcement agency if handgun safety was a component of the course.
Length of Training: 2-8 hours
Cost of Training: $10-$95 (prices vary but this is a rough estimate)
Notes: Some instructors offer an online course that will satisfy Oregon’s training requirements.
States that honor or recognize the Oregon Concealed Handgun Resident License
Oregon honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits
Oregon does not recognize permits or licenses from any other state.