You must take a concealed carry class in Louisiana to get your Concealed Handgun Permit.
There’s no way around it unless you can demonstrate proficiency with a firearm through your past law enforcement or military training, but we’ve listed all the acceptable types of training below. Either way, you’ll still need to have trained, so read on to find out exactly what you need, and then book your spot at a CCW class.
Name: Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit
Issuer: Louisiana State Police, Concealed Handgun Permit Unit
Type of State: Shall-Issue
Training Required? Yes
Type of Training Accepted: Any NRA safety or training course within the 12 months leading to your application.
Any law enforcement or security enforcement safety or training course approved by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections or certified by the Council on Peace Officer Standards and Training within the 12 months leading to your application.
Any retired Louisiana Peace Officer need only demonstrate that he or she was certified by the Council on Peace Officer Standards and Training at the time of retirement.
Any safety or training course or class approved by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections offered to the general public by a law enforcement agency, college, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school within the 12 months leading to your application.
Possession of a current valid license to carry a concealed weapon issued by a parish law enforcement officer.
Completion of any other course or class approved by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections within the 12 months leading to your application.
Active Duty Armed Forces personnel can show qualifying range scores provided by your Range NCO along with a copy of your Military ID card to satisfy the training requirement. This meets the requirement of completing basic training with a service record showing you have completed small arms training.
Released or retired Military Personnel who possess an Honorable Discharge or a General Discharge Under Honorable Conditions who prove they have taken small arms training within the last 60 months.
Active duty or service in the National Guard or reserve components of the Armed Forces may show their completion of Basic Training with service record evidence of having successfully completed small arms training.
NRA’s personal protection course.
Length of Training: 7.5-10 hours
Cost of Training: $90-$125 (prices vary, but this is a rough outline)
Notes: You will need to attend another training class before renewing your license.
If you wish to carry a concealed weapon in a church, you will have to take an additional 8 hours of training each year. (Note: ensure your church, synagogue or mosque allows for concealed carry).
While military personnel who have completed basic training do not have to take training to apply for a new permit, military personnel will have to take additional training each time you renew your permit.
States that honor or recognize the Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit
|Nevada||New Hampshire||New Mexico||North Carolina|
|South Carolina||South Dakota||Tennessee||Texas|
Louisiana honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits
|New Hampshire||New Mexico||North Carolina||North Dakota|