Last updated on
You need to take a concealed carry class or course in Massachusetts to get your license to carry.
This means you need to know the training requirements, which we’ve listed below.
Read through them and be sure to book yourself into a training program as soon as possible.
Name: Massachusetts License to Carry (Class A)
Issuer: Local Police (for non-residents, contact the Firearms Record Bureau)
Type of State: May-issue
Training Required? Yes
Type of Training Accepted: Basic Firearm Safety Certification that teaches the safe use, handling and storage of firearms, methods for securing and childproofing firearms, applicable laws relating to firearms, and knowledge of operation, potential dangers and basic competency in ownership and usage of firearms. This training must be taken within the year leading up to your application.
A hunting safety course, with a certificate issued by the division of fisheries and wildlife.
*Note: The Department of Public Safety posts a list of Approved Basic Firearms Safety Courses.
If authorized by a competent authority to carry or possess a weapon while acting within the scope of your duties, any officers, agent or employee of the commonwealth or any state of the US, any member of the military or other service of any state or of the US, or any duly authorized law enforcement officer, agent or employee of any municipality of the commonwealth does not have to undertake additional training.
Length of Training: 4 hours
Cost of Training: ~$100
Notes: Massachusetts offers Class A and Class B licenses, but only a Class A allows you to carry concealed.
States that honor or recognize the Massachusetts License to Carry (Class A):
Massachusetts honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits:
Massachusetts does not recognize permits or licenses from any other state.