Taking a concealed carry class in Michigan is not only a smart idea to ensure you’re well-trained when it comes to handling your firearm, it is a necessity if you’re looking to get your Concealed Pistols License.
We have put together the basic requirements for training, so that you know what to look for when booking your course or class.
Be sure to fill everything out properly and then book a course right away.
Name: Michigan Concealed Pistols License
Issuer: Michigan State Police / County Gun Board
Type of State: Shall-Issue
Training Required? Yes
Type of Training Accepted: Certified training class that provides instruction in: safe storage, use and handling of a pistol, ammunition knowledge and fundamentals of pistol shooting, pistol shooting positions, firearms law, avoiding criminal attack and controlling a violent confrontation. The course you take must have at least 5 hours of classroom training and at least 3 hours of instruction on the firing range, where you must fire at least 30 rounds of ammunition.
Length of Training: At least 8 hours
Cost of Training: $115-$175
Notes: While you do not have to take another firearm training class prior to renewing your license, you must at least three hours of review of the pistol safety training course and at least one hour of range time in the 6 months leading up to your renewal.
States that honor or recognize the Michigan Concealed Pistols License
|Minnesota||Mississippi||Missouri||Montana||Nebraska||Nevada||New Hampshire||New Mexico|
|North Carolina||North Dakota||Ohio||Oklahoma|
|Pennsylvania||South Carolina||South Dakota||Tennessee|
Michigan honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits
Note: Michigan does not recognize any non-resident permit.
Michigan honors permits from all other states.