Last updated on
Training in the form of a concealed carry class in Nebraska is required if you want to get your CCW Permit.
Check out the information and requirements below in order to prepare yourself with the knowledge to make the best decision when it comes to booking your NE class.
Name: Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit
Issuer: Nebraska State Police
Type of State: Shall-Issue
Training Required? Yes
Type of Training Accepted: A handgun safety or training course approved by the Nebraska State Patrol. This training must include: how to avoid a criminal attack and deal with a violent confrontation, how to safely handle a handgun, how to safely handle ammunition, how to properly store your handgun and ammunition (including child safety), safe handgun shooting fundamentals, and information about federal, state and local firearms laws. You must show you are competent with a firearm by completing drawing and firing drill, precision shooting drills and decision making drills.
To pass the Nebraska State Patrol qualification course, you must shoot 30 rounds from varying distances and get a score of 70 percent, firing at an FBI “Q” target. You are allowed three attempts. This course must also give you a test of at least 30 questions, on which you must score at least 70 percent.
Members of the active or reserve Armed Forces or members of the National Guard may present documentation proving that they have completed handgun training within the previous 3 years that meets Nebraska requirements.
Length of Training: 8.5-10 hours
Cost of Training: $125-$179 (prices vary, but this is a rough outline)
Notes: Additional training is not required to renew your permit
States that honor or recognize the Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit
|Nevada||New Mexico||North Carolina||North Dakota|
Nebraska honors or recognizes the following states’ and territories concealed carry permits
|Colorado||Connecticut||District of Columbia||Florida|
|Nevada||New Jersey||New Mexico||North Carolina|
|Rhode Island||South Carolina||South Dakota*||Tennessee|
*Note: Nebraska will only honor certain types of permits from Iowa, North Dakota, and South Dakota. For Iowa only the non-professional permit will be honored. For North Dakota only the Class 1 permit will be honored. Lastly for South Dakota only the Enhanced permit will be honored.