Concealed Carry Class in Nebraska

Training in the form of a concealed carry class in Nebraska is required if you want to get your CCW Permit.

Check out the information and requirements below in order to prepare yourself with the knowledge to make the best decision when it comes to booking your NE class.

Name: Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit

Issuer: Nebraska State Police

Type of State: Shall-Issue

Training Required? Yes

Type of Training Accepted: A handgun safety or training course approved by the Nebraska State Patrol. This training must include: how to avoid a criminal attack and deal with a violent confrontation, how to safely handle a handgun, how to safely handle ammunition, how to properly store your handgun and ammunition (including child safety), safe handgun shooting fundamentals, and information about federal, state and local firearms laws. You must show you are competent with a firearm by completing drawing and firing drill, precision shooting drills and decision making drills.

To pass the Nebraska State Patrol qualification course, you must shoot 30 rounds from varying distances and get a score of 70 percent, firing at an FBI “Q” target. You are allowed three attempts. This course must also give you a test of at least 30 questions, on which you must score at least 70 percent.

Members of the active or reserve Armed Forces or members of the National Guard may present documentation proving that they have completed handgun training within the previous 3 years that meets Nebraska requirements.

Length of Training: 8.5-10 hours

Cost of Training: $125-$179 (prices vary, but this is a rough outline)

Notes: Additional training is not required to renew your permit


States that honor or recognize the Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas
Colorado Florida Idaho Indiana
Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana
Michigan Mississippi Missouri Montana
Nevada New Mexico North Carolina North Dakota
Ohio Oklahoma South Dakota Tennessee
Texas Utah Vermont Virginia
Wisconsin Wyoming

Nebraska honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits

Alaska Arizona Arkansas California
Colorado Connecticut Florida Idaho
Iowa Hawaii Kansas Kentucky
Louisiana Maine Michigan Minnesota
Missouri Montana Nevada New Jersey
New Mexico North Carolina North Dakota Ohio
Oklahoma Oregon Rhode Island South Carolina
Tennessee Texas Utah Virginia
West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming DC

Leave a Reply