Concealed Carry Class in New York

Be sure to read carefully below because you definitely need to know what you’re doing if you want to carry concealed in New York. If you are unsure of anything, be sure to talk to your Issuing Authority before making any decisions.

You will likely need to take a concealed carry class in New York if you are going to be applying for your Carry Permit. The rules are different amongst counties so be sure to pay close attention.

Name: New York Carry Permit

Issuer: Licensing Officer of the City or County where you reside, are principally employed, or where your place of business as a merchant or storekeeper is located

Type of State: May-Issue

Training Required? Varies by county, but generally Yes

Type of Training Accepted: Varies by county

Length of Training: 3-14 hours

Cost of Training: $60-$200 (prices vary, but this is a rough outline)

Notes: Your permit is not good in the 5 counties of New York City. There are few exceptions, and they require the Chief of Police to grant you permission. This means that as a rule, you can not carry concealed in New York City, even if you have a permit.

Because training requirements vary by county, it is vital that you get the right information for your county. Not only are they each different, but local laws can change quickly, so you must contact your county for more information. Click on your county below to get concealed carry class information.

Albany County Allegany County Bronx County Broome County
Cattaraugus County Cayuga County Chautauqua County Chemung County
Chenango County Clinton County Columbia County Cortland County
Delaware County Dutchess County Erie County Essex County
Franklin County Fulton County Genesee County Greene County
Hamilton County Herkimer County Jefferson County Lewis County
Livingston County Madison County Monroe County Montgomery County
Nassau County New York County Niagara County Oneida County
Onondaga County Ontario County Orange County Orleans County
Oswego County Otsego County Putnam County Queens County
Rensselaer County Richmond County Rockland County St. Lawrence County
Saratoga County Schenectady County Schoharie County Schuyler County
Seneca County Steuben County Suffolk County Sullivan County
Tioga County Tompkins County Ulster County Warren County
Washington County Wayne County Westchester County Wyoming County
Yates County

New York honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits

New York does not honor or recognize permits from any other state.

Leave a Reply