Last updated on
Be sure to read carefully below because you definitely need to know what you’re doing if you want to carry concealed in New York. If you are unsure of anything, be sure to talk to your Issuing Authority before making any decisions.
You will likely need to take a concealed carry class in New York if you are going to be applying for your Carry Permit. The rules are different among counties so be sure to pay close attention.
Name: New York Carry Permit
Issuer: Licensing Officer of the City or County where you reside, are principally employed, or where your place of business as a merchant or storekeeper is located
Type of State: May-Issue
Training Required? Varies by county, but generally Yes
Type of Training Accepted: Varies by county
Length of Training: 3-14 hours
Cost of Training: $60-$200 (prices vary, but this is a rough outline)
Notes: Your permit is not good in the 5 counties of New York City. There are few exceptions, and they require the Chief of Police to grant you permission. This means that as a rule, you can not carry concealed in New York City, even if you have a permit.
Because training requirements vary by county, it is vital that you get the right information for your county. Not only are they each different, but local laws can change quickly, so you must contact your county for more information. Click on your county below to get concealed carry class information.
States that honor or recognize a New York Pistol License
New York honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits
New York does not honor or recognize permits from any other state.