Last updated on
Be sure you take a concealed carry class in North Carolina if you’re looking to get your Concealed Handgun Permit.
It’s the law, and you must abide by it to get the Permit.
Read below for all the requirements and then book yourself into a class right away and get started. Also consider making it a regular habit to go to a training course to make sure you’re always practiced up, in case anything were to happen and you needed to actually use your firearm.
Name: North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permit
Issuer: Local Sheriff
Type of State: Shall-Issue
Training Required? Yes
Type of Training Accepted: An approved safety and training course that teaches firearms laws in North Carolina and that includes firing of a handgun on a range.
If you are a retired North Carolina law enforcement agents who has retired in the past 2 years and either has non-forfeitable rights to benefits under the retirement plan or has 20 years or more of service, you do not need to take training.
If you are a law enforcement agent in NC who is authorized by your agency to carry a handgun in the course of duty, is not subject to disciplinary action, and meets requirements established by your agency regarding handguns, you do not need to take training.
If you are licensed or registered by the North Carolina Private Protective Services Board as an armed security guard and have a firearm registration permit issued by the Board, you do not need to take training.
If you are a retired probation or parole officer, have retired in good standing, never having been subject to a disciplinary action, within two years of your application, met firearms training standards of the Department of Correction and were authorized by the Department of Correction to carry a handgun in the course of duty, has a vested right to benefit under the Teachers’ and State Employees’ Retirement System of North Carolina and are not prohibited from receiving a firearm, you do not need to take training.
Length of Training: 8-10 hours
Cost of Training: $60-$150
Notes: To renew your license, your local sheriff may require you to take another training class. Click here to find your sheriff and contact the office before your renewal.
States that honor or recognize the North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permit
|Nevada||New Hampshire||New Mexico||North Dakota|
North Carolina honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits
North Carolina honors permits from all other states.