You shall need a fairly intensive training course to get your concealed license in Ohio.
That means that you do indeed need to take a concealed carry class in Ohio. Read below to get an idea of the requirements and then be sure to book yourself into a training class to get the process started.
Name: Ohio License to Carry a Concealed Handgun
Issuer: Local Sheriff
Type of State: Shall-Issue
Training Required? Yes
Type of Training Accepted: A NRA firearms safety course.
A class that was open to the public, given by the NRA or Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission or approved instructors of another state, that was offered under the authority of a law enforcement agency of Ohio or another state, college, or firearms training school.
A certificate of completion of a state, county, municipal or Ohio Department of Natural Resources peace officer training school that is approved by the executive director of Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission.
Proof of your experience with handguns or other firearms (that meets equivalent minimum training standards) if you are an active or reserve member of the Armed Forces, if you were honorably discharged within the past six years, or if you are a retired highway patrol trooper, a retired peace officer, or a federal law enforcement officer.
Any firearms safety or training class that was conducted by an instructor certified by an official or entity of Ohio, another state, the US government or the NRA that complies with minimum education requirements (this means you can basically take any class in OH, as long as they go over a few specific things).
*All courses must meet Minimum Education Requirements as follows: The ability to name, explain and demonstrate the rules for safe handling of a handgun and proper storage practices for handguns and ammunition; The ability to demonstrate and explain how to handle ammunition in a safe manner; The ability to demonstrate the knowledge, skills and attitude necessary to shoot a handgun safely; and Gun-handling training. You must also shoot on the range. You must take a test to prove your competency that includes a written section and a physical demonstration. It is necessary for your instructor to give you a copy of the Ohio Concealed Carry Laws Manual, found here.
Length of Training: 12 hours (10 of instruction, 2 hours of shooting)
Cost of Training: $50-$150 (prices vary, but this is a rough outline)
Notes: Click here to find a certified instructor in your county.
States that honor or recognize the Ohio License to Carry a Concealed Handgun
|North Carolina||North Dakota||Oklahoma||South Carolina|
Ohio honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits
|Alaska||Arizona (Resident Only)||Arkansas||Delaware|
|New Mexico||North Carolina||North Dakota||Oklahoma|