You’ve got to get in at least 8 hours of training in your concealed carry class in South Carolina to get your CWP.
That’s not a bad thing, though, as you should always be looking for training and safety opportunities to keep you at the top of your game just in case you find yourself in a threatening situation. Read on to find out more about the requirements necessary and then get yourself signed up to a class!
Name: South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit
Issuer: State Law Enforcement Division
Type of State: Shall-Issue
Training Required? Yes
Type of Training Accepted: A basic or advanced handgun education course offered by a state, county, or municipal law enforcement agency or a nationally recognized organization that promotes gun safety, that was taken within 3 years of your application.
The course must include: information on the relevant gun laws, information on handgun use and safety, information on the proper storage practices (emphasizing child safety), live-fire exercise.
Instructor training if you are certified by the NRA or another SLED approved national organization that promotes gun safety.
Demonstration of your competency in handguns and state laws pertaining to handguns to the Director of SLED or his designee.
Active duty police handgun instructors do not need additional training.
A SLED certified or approved competitive handgun shooting classification.
Handgun training as an active or reserve member of the Military or National Guard within 3 years of your application.
Length of Training: At least 8 hours
Cost of Training: $80-$100 (prices vary, but this is a rough outline
States that honor or recognize the South Carolina Concealed Weapons Resident Permit
|North Carolina||North Dakota||Ohio||Oklahoma|
South Carolina honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry resident permits
|New Mexico||North Carolina||North Dakota||South Dakota|
* denotes SC only recognizes the Enhanced Permit
` denotes SC only recognized the WV permit for those 21+
Note: South Carolina will not recognize non-resident permits from any state