Take a concealed carry class in Virginia if you want to get your Permit to carry concealed.
It’s necessary and it’s just a good idea anyways to get more training around the safety, laws, and handling of your firearm, particularly when you are going to be carrying it concealed.
Name: Virginia Permit to Carry a Concealed Handgun
Issuer: Local circuit court
Type of State: Shall-Issue
Training Required? Yes, you must prove competence with a handgun.
Type of Training Accepted: Any hunter education or safety course approved by the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries or similar agency of another state.
Any NRA firearms safety or training course.
Any firearms safety or training course provided by a law enforcement agency, junior college, college or private or public institution or firearms training school, taught by a instructor certified by the NRA or Department of Criminal Justice Services.
Any law enforcement firearms safety or training course offered for any division of law enforcement or security.
Proof of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competition, current military service or proof of honorable discharge from any branch of the armed services.
Current or previously held firearms license in this Commonwealth or locality thereof.
Any firearms training or safety course taught by a state-certified or NRA-certified instructor.
Any governmental police agency firearms training course.
Completing any other firearms training which the court deems adequate.
Length of Training: 1.5-4 hours
Cost of Training: $30-60 (prices vary, but this is a rough outline)
Notes: You can complete a safety course online, as long as it is taught by an NRA- or State-certified instructor.
States that honor or recognize the Virginia Resident Permit to Carry a Concealed Handgun
|New Hampshire||New Mexico||North Carolina||North Dakota|
|Ohio||Oklahoma||South Carolina||South Dakota|
Virginia honors or recognizes the following states’ concealed carry permits
Virginia honors permits from all other states.